Web Economics,
Monetisation, and

Online Markets

We invite research contributions for the Web Economics, Monetisation, and Online Markets track at the 27th edition of The Web Conference (WWW 2018), to be held April 23-27, 2018 in Lyon, France (

The Web has transformed many traditional businesses, from shopping to advertising, and has been a platform for new economic activities such as cloud computing, crowdsourcing, and the sharing economy.

The track on Web Economics, Monetisation, and Online Markets is a forum for theoretical, empirical, and applied research related to the modeling, analysis, and design of web-specific economic activities.

Example topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Digital advertising
  • Economics of cloud computing
  • Economics of crowdsourcing and human computation
  • Economics of social networks
  • Economics of privacy
  • Fairness in economic environments
  • The sharing economy
  • Incentives in user-generated content including ratings, reviews, and reputation systems
  • Mobile advertising
  • Incentives in gamification
  • Internet-enabled auctions, markets, exchanges, and pricing
  • Web and mobile app ecosystems

Track Chairs:

  • Aaron Roth (University of Pennsylvania, United States)
  • Jenn Wortman Vaughan (Microsoft, United States)

Contact: www2018-economics (at)

Program Committee:

  • Matthew Backus (Columbia University, United States)
  • Liad Blumrosen (Department of Economics The Hebrew University, Israel)
  • Simina Branzei (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)
  • Sofia Ceppi (The University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom)
  • Rachel Cummings (California Institute of Technology, United States)
  • Michal Feldman (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
  • Sam Ganzfried (Florida International University, United States)
  • Vasilis Gkatzelis (Drexel University, United States)
  • Gagan Goel (Google, United States)
  • Chien-Ju Ho (Cornell University, United States)
  • Justin Hsu (University of Pennsylvania, United States)
  • Patrick Hummel (Google, United States)
  • Krishnamurthy Iyer (Cornell University, United States)
  • Sara Krehbiel (University of Richmond, United States)
  • Sebastien Lahaie (Microsoft, United States)
  • Ron Lavi (Technion — Israel Institute of Technology, Israel)
  • Shuai Li (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Mohammad Mahdian (Google, United States)
  • Azarakhsh Malekian (University of Toronto, United States)
  • Preston McAfee (Microsoft, United States)
  • Ruta Mehta (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States)
  • Vahab Mirrokni (Google, United States)
  • Jamie Morgenstern (University of Pennsylvania, United States)
  • Kamesh Munagala (Duke University, United States)
  • Sigal Oren (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)
  • Michael Ostrovsky (Stanford University, United States)
  • Martin Pal (Google, United States)
  • Georgios Piliouras (Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore)
  • Nisarg Shah (University of Toronto, Canada)
  • Peng Shi (University of Southern California, United States)
  • Balasubramanian Sivan (Google, United States)
  • Mukund Sundararajan (Stanford University, United States)
  • Inbal Talgam-Cohen (Hebrew University, United States)
  • Eva Tardos (Cornell University, United States)
  • Sergei Vassilvitskii (Google, United States)
  • Bo Waggoner (University of Pennsylvania, United States)
  • Christopher Wilkens (Facebook, United States)
  • James Wright (Microsoft, United States)
  • Zhiwei Steven Wu (University of Pennsylvania, United States)
  • Lirong Xia (RPI, United States)
  • Georgios Zervas (Boston University School of Management, United States)

Important dates:

  • Research tracks abstracts submission deadline : 26 October 2017
  • Research tracks full papers submission deadline : 31 October 2017
  • Research tracks acceptance notification : 22 December 2017
  • Research tracks papers final version due : 18 February 2018

All submission deadlines are at 9:00pm HAST.

See copyright note on main CFP page