User Modeling,

and Experience

We invite research contributions for the User Modeling, Personalization and Experience track at the 27th edition of The Web Conference (WWW 2018), to be held April 23-27, 2018 in Lyon, France (

A large swath of user interaction with various online services happens through devices connected to the WWW. Hence, developing technologies to understand and enhance user experience has become one of the most challenging problems for WWW researchers and practitioners. Recent advances have enabled the processing of vast amounts of data collected from these devices, using techniques from machine learning, statistical modeling, natural language processing, speech recognition, and others. The sheer volume of interactions have also made possible to innovate and experiment continuously in a data-driven fashion, based on users’ interactions and feedback. In this track we invite original research submissions addressing all aspects of user behaviour analytics, personalisation, and experience.

Relevant topics include, but are not limited to:

  • User modeling, log analysis, and interaction models
  • User interfaces, design and evaluation
  • User experience with interactive and conversational systems
  • Intelligent agents and personal assistants
  • Personalization of the web experience
  • Personalization and recommendation for the social web.
  • Recommendation approaches and recommender systems
  • Experiment design for user studies and online testing
  • Qualitative methods to collect and analyze user feedback
  • Combining user feedback from multiple sources
  • Efficient algorithms for large-scale log analysis
  • Metrics for user behaviour and evaluating success
  • Discrimination-aware methods for personalization
  • Avoidance of over-personalization and “filter bubbles”
  • Innovative methods to enhance online user experience
  • Practical large-scale studies of user experience
  • Personalized content ranking and presentation
  • Session analysis for user understanding

Track chairs:

  • Shlomo Berkovsky (CSIRO, Australia)
  • Carlos Castillo (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain)
  • Mihajlo Grbovic (Airbnb, United States)

Contact: www2018-user-modeling (at)

Senior program committee members:

  • Luca Maria Aiello (Nokia Bell Labs, United Kingdom)
  • Pablo Castells (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
  • Nemanja Djuric (Uber ATG, United States)
  • Nadia Fawaz (Linkedin, United States)
  • Jennifer Golbeck (University of Maryland, United States)
  • Ido Guy (eBay Research, Israel)
  • Dietmar Jannach (AAU Klagenfurt, Austria)
  • Liane Lewin-Eytan (Yahoo labs, Israel)
  • Thanasis Noulas (Airbnb, United States)
  • Vladan Radosavljevic (Uber Advanced Technology Group, United States)
  • Yves Raimond (Netflix, United Kingdom)
  • Steffen Rendle (Google, United States)
  • Pavel Serdyukov (Yandex, Russia)
  • Onno Zoeter (, Netherlands)

Program committee members:

  • Panagiotis Adamopoulos (New York University, United States)
  • Abraham Bagherjeiran (A9 /, United States)
  • Linas Baltrunas (Netflix Inc, United States)
  • Justin Basilico (Netflix, United States)
  • Kinjal Basu (LinkedIn Corporation, United States)
  • Eric Bax (Yahoo, United States)
  • Alejandro Bellogin (Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain)
  • Alex Beutel (Google, United States)
  • Maria Bielikova (Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Slovakia)
  • Toine Bogers (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • Cecile Bothorel (Telecom Bretagne, France)
  • Cody Buntain (University of Maryland, United States)
  • Suleyman Cetintas (Yahoo Labs, United States)
  • Ashok Chandrashekar (Netflix, United States)
  • Li Chen (Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong)
  • Ed H. Chi (Google, United States)
  • Michael Cole (LexisNexis, United States)
  • Paolo Cremonesi (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Elizabeth M. Daly (IBM, Ireland)
  • Marco De Gemmis (Dipartimento di Informatica – University of Bari, Italy)
  • Debora Donato (Mix Tech, United States)
  • Yuxiao Dong (Microsoft, United States)
  • Alexey Drutsa (MSU, Russia)
  • Michael Ekstrand (Dept. of Computer Science Boise State University, United States)
  • Mehdi Elahi (Free University of Bozen – Bolzano, Italy)
  • Rosta Farzan (University of Pittsburgh, United States)
  • Alexander Felfernig (Graz University of Technology, Austria)
  • Adam Fourney (Microsoft, United States)
  • Werner Geyer (IBM T.J. Watson Research, United States)
  • Liangjie Hong (Etsy Inc., United States)
  • Lichan Hong (Google, United States)
  • Frank Hopfgartner (The University of Sheffield, United Kingdom)
  • Yuheng Hu (University of Illinois at Chicago, United States)
  • Neil Hurley (University College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Amir Ingber (Yahoo!, Israel)
  • Mohsen Jamali (The University of British Columbia, United States)
  • Sergey Kirshner (Facebook, United States)
  • Daniel Kluver (University of Minnesota, United States)
  • Bart Knijnenburg (Clemson University, United States)
  • Deguang Kong (Oath, United States)
  • David Konopnicki (IBM, Israel)
  • Zornitsa Kozareva (Google, United States)
  • Elad Kravi (Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel)
  • Udo Kruschwitz (University of Essex, United Kingdom)
  • Branislav Kveton (Adobe Research, United States)
  • Kyumin Lee (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, United States)
  • Jingjing Liu (University of South Carolina, United States)
  • Pasquale Lops (University of Bari, Italy)
  • Bernd Ludwig (University Regensburg, Germany)
  • Qiang Ma (Rutgers University, United States)
  • Massimo Melucci (University of Padua, Italy)
  • Yashar Moshfeghi (University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom)
  • Tien Nguyen (University of Minnesota, United States)
  • Iadh Ounis (University of Glasgow, United Kingdom)
  • Javier Parapar (IRLab Computer Science Dept. University of A Coruña, Spain)
  • Denis Parra (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de, Chile)
  • Luiz Pizzato (Commonwealth Bank, Australia)
  • Julia Proskurnia (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Josep Pujol (Cliqz, Germany)
  • Suju Rajan (Criteo, United States)
  • Miriam Redi (Yahoo, Spain)
  • Haggai Roitman (IBM Research Haifa, Israel)
  • Shaghayegh Sahebi (University at Albany – SUNY, United States)
  • Alan Said (University of Skövde, Sweden)
  • Markus Schedl (Johannes Kepler University, Austria)
  • Lars Schmidt-Thieme (University of Hildesheim, Germany)
  • Oren Somekh (Yahoo Research, Israel)
  • Harald Steck (Netflix, United States)
  • Panagiotis Symeonidis (Free University of Bolzano, Greece)
  • Paul Thomas (Microsoft, Australia)
  • Mitul Tiwari (LinkedIn, United States)
  • Marko Tkalcic (Free University of Bolzano Faculty of Computer Science, Italy)
  • Christoph Trattner (MODUL University Vienna, Austria)
  • Hossein Vahabi (Pandora Media Inc., United States)
  • Vishwa Vinay (Adobe Research Bangalore, India)
  • Yana Volkovich (Appnexus, United States)
  • Aleksandr Vorobev (Yandex LLC, Russia)
  • Slobodan Vucetic (Temple University, United States)
  • Mirjam Wattenhofer (Google, Switzerland)
  • Makoto Yamada (RIKEN AIP, United States)
  • Markus Zanker (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy)
  • Liang Zhang (LinkedIn, United States)
  • Qi Zhao (Google, United States)
  • Zhe Zhao (Google, United States)
  • Vincent W. Zheng (Advanced Digital Sciences Center, Singapore)
  • Yong Zheng (Illinois Institute of Technology, United States)

Important dates:

  • Research tracks abstracts submission deadline : 26 October 2017
  • Research tracks full papers submission deadline : 31 October 2017
  • Research tracks acceptance notification : 22 December 2017
  • Research tracks papers final version due : 18 February 2018

All submission deadlines are at 9:00pm HAST.

See copyright note on main CFP page