Intelligent and
Autonomous Systems

on the Web

We invite research contributions for the Intelligent and Autonomous Systems on the Web Track at the 27th edition of The Web Conference (WWW 2018), to be held April 23-27, 2018 in Lyon, France (

While intelligent and autonomous systems have been a focus of interest in the research community for many years, we are currently witnessing rapid growth with the development of new forms of artificial intelligence and learning algorithms. Intelligent assistants, autonomous vehicles, and social media bots are just a few examples of the ways in which these technologies are transforming our everyday life, bringing both opportunities and challenges. This track is a new WWW track, aiming to shed new light on these recent developments. We seek to offer a forum to discuss and debate the issues raised by this new generation of technologies and applications, and on how digital connectivity and Web-scale data can contribute to addressing them.

Subtopics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Models and algorithms (e.g., deep learning, reinforcement learning, knowledge-driven learning, optimization, etc.) that build the foundations of intelligent and autonomous systems
  • Tools that provide effective and efficient technological support for intelligent systems, including multimodal sensing and computer vision
  • New forms of intelligent agents and cognitive computing systems
  • Novel interaction mechanisms between autonomous systems and humans
  • Techniques to ensure privacy and security in the context of autonomous systems
  • Innovative applications in areas such as computational creativity and automated journalism
  • Applications of intelligent and autonomous systems to improve our daily life
  • Other topics in artificial intelligence and autonomous systems

Track chairs:

  • Gerard de Melo (Rutgers University, United States)
  • Jie Tang (Tsinghua University, China)

Contact: www2018-ai-systems (at)

Senior Program Committee:

  • Gregory Grefenstette (IHMC and Biggerpan Inc, United States)
  • Juanzi Li (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Spiros Papadimitriou (Rutgers University, United States)
  • Marius Pasca (Google, United States)
  • Marcus Rohrbach (Facebook AI Research, United States)
  • Niket Tandon (Allen AI, United States)
  • Hanghang Tong (City College CUNY, United States)
  • Chi Wang (Microsoft, United States)
  • Chris Welty (Google NYC, United States)
  • Hui Xiong (Rutgers University, United States)
  • Philip Yu (University of Illinois at Chicago, United States)

Program Committee:

  • Nitin Agarwal (University of Arkansas at Little Rock, United States)
  • Sungjin Ahn (Element AI, Canada)
  • Miguel Arevalillo-Herráez (Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain)
  • Devansh Arpit (SUNY Buffalo, United States)
  • Renato Assuncao (UFMG, Brazil)
  • Nicola Barbieri (Tumblr, United States)
  • Senjuti Basu Roy (Institute of Technology, United States)
  • Gustavo Batista (University of São Paulo, Brazil)
  • Austin Benson (Cornell University, United States)
  • Aditya Bhaskara (University of Utah, United States)
  • Jiang Bian (Microsoft, China)
  • Christian Böhm (Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Germany)
  • Juan Cabota (University of Valencia, Spain)
  • Jaeyoung Choi (TU Delft / ICSI, United States)
  • Nan Du (Google, United States)
  • Alessandro Fiori (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
  • Luis Galarraga (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • Chuang Gan (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Byron Gao (Texas State University, United States)
  • Xin Huang (The University of British Columbia, Canada)
  • Georgiana Ifrim (University College Dublin, Ireland)
  • David Jurgens (Stanford University, United States)
  • Komal Kapoor (University of Minnesota, United States)
  • Tom Kenter (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • Zsolt Kira (Georgia Institute of Technology, United States)
  • Ralf Krestel (Hasso Plattner Institute University of Potsdam, Germany)
  • Jae-Gil Lee (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea)
  • Diego Marcheggiani (University of Amsterdam, Italy)
  • Christian M. Meyer (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Tristan Miller (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Paramita Mirza (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany)
  • Fred Morstatter (University of Southern California, United States)
  • Mu Qiao (IBM, United States)
  • Lizhen Qu (Data61, Australia)
  • Tim Rocktäschel (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Bin Shao (Microsoft, China)
  • Guojie Song (Room 2307 in Science Building Two Peking University Beijing, China)
  • Yu Su (University of California Santa Barbara, United States)
  • Nina Tahmasebi (University of Gothenburg, Sweden)
  • Yulia Tsvetkov (Carnegie Mellon University, United States)
  • Aparna Varde (Montclair State University, United States)
  • Jun Wang (University College London, United Kingdom)
  • René Witte (Concordia University, Canada)
  • Andrew Yates (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany)
  • Reza Zafarani (Syracuse University, United States)
  • Xiang Zhang (The Pennsylvania State University, United States)

Important dates:

  • Research tracks abstracts submission deadline : 26 October 2017
  • Research tracks full papers submission deadline : 31 October 2017
  • Research tracks acceptance notification : 22 December 2017
  • Research tracks papers final version due : 18 February 2018

All submission deadlines are at 9:00pm HAST.

See copyright note on main CFP page