Crowdsourcing and
Human Computation

for the Web

We invite research contributions for the Crowdsourcing and Human Computation for the Web track at the 27th edition of The Web Conference (WWW 2018), to be held April 23-27, 2018 in Lyon, France (

This track focuses on socio-technical systems that create value through collective action. These actions include producing, appraising and sharing content, performing various types of work, as well as all other crowd phenomena that occur today over the Web. We invite submissions that contribute a new algorithm, analysis, framework, or applications of crowdsourcing in specific domains (e.g., intelligent cities, health, multimedia). Papers should be clearly positioned with respect to prior work, convey the importance of the contribution and findings, and report in detail the methodology used and the obtained results, including a comparison with state-of-the-art methods when appropriate.

Topics include (but are not limited to):

  • Crowdsourcing and collective intelligence
  • Modeling, design and operation of crowdsourcing systems
  • Human computation and hybrid human-machine systems
  • Workflow optimization based on expertise, compatibility, time constraints, etc.
  • Engagement, motivations, incentives, and gamification
  • Mining of crowd-generated data
  • Impact and applications of crowdsourcing in domain-specific use cases (e.g. intelligent cities, health, multimedia, etc.)
  • Crowdsourcing and impact on labour, legislation, politics, governance, and economics
  • User-generated content and peer production
  • Quality assurance and metrics in crowd-powered applications
  • Efficiency and scalability of crowd-powered solutions
  • Real-time and mobile crowdsourcing
  • Crowd phenomena in opinion formation and prediction markets
  • Usability and human factors in crowd applications
  • Behavior modeling of workers, worker communities, and requesters
  • Crowd-powered conversational systems
  • Characterisation and Modeling of Crowdsourcing tasks

Track Chairs:

  • Alessandro Bozzon (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Gianluca Demartini (The University of Queensland, Australia)

Contact: www2018-crowdsourcing (at)

Program Committee:

  • Omar Alonso (Microsoft, United States)
  • Lora Aroyo (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • Marcos Baez (University of Trento, Italy)
  • Wolf-Tilo Balke (Institut für Informationssysteme TU Braunschweig, Germany)
  • Fabio Casati (University of Trento, Italy)
  • Michele Catasta (Stanford University, United States)
  • Irene Celino (CEFRIEL, Italy)
  • L. Elisa Celis (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Alessandro Checco (The University of Sheffield, United Kingdom)
  • Kuan-Ta Chen (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
  • Philippe Cudre-Mauroux (U. of Fribourg, Switzerland)
  • Florian Daniel (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Luca de Alfaro (UC Santa Cruz, United States)
  • Djellel Eddine Difallah (NYU, United States)
  • Carsten Eickhoff (Brown University, United States)
  • Ujwal Gadiraju (L3S Research Center, Germany)
  • Jing Gao (University at Buffalo, United States)
  • Daniel Gatica-Perez (Idiap and EPFL, Switzerland)
  • Benjamin Hanrahan (The Pennsylvania State University, United States)
  • Matthias Hirth (University of Wuerzburg, Germany)
  • Christopher Homan (Rochester Institute of Technology, United States)
  • Tobias Hossfeld (University of Duisburg-Essen Chair of Modeling of Adaptive Systems, Germany)
  • Shaili Jain (Apple Inc., United States)
  • Hyun Joon Jung (Apple, United States)
  • Patty Kostkova (University College London, United Kingdom)
  • Pavel Kucherbaev (University of Trento, Italy)
  • Edith Law (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Guoliang Li (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Chris Lintott (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Eddy Maddalena (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)
  • Walid Magdy (The University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom)
  • Andrew Mao (Microsoft, United States)
  • Andrea Mauri (Delft University of Technology, Italy)
  • Zoltan Miklos (University of Rennes 1, France)
  • Stefano Mizzaro (University of Udine, Italy)
  • Babak Naderi (TU Berlin, Germany)
  • Quoc Viet Hung Nguyen (Griffith University, Australia)
  • Besmira Nushi (Microsoft, United States)
  • Alexander Quinn (Purdue University, United States)
  • Marta Sabou (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  • Cristina Sarasua (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Elena Simperl (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)
  • Markus Strohmaier (RWTH Aachen University & GESIS, Germany)
  • Matteo Venanzi (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)
  • Maja Vukovic (IBM, United States)
  • Jie Yang (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Ming Yin (Microsoft Research & Purdue, United States)
  • Aston Zhang (Amazon AI, United States)
  • Jie Zhang (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Kai Zheng (University of Electronic Science and Technology, China)

Important dates:

  • Research tracks abstracts submission deadline : 26 October 2017
  • Research tracks full papers submission deadline : 31 October 2017
  • Research tracks acceptance notification : 22 December 2017
  • Research tracks papers final version due : 18 February 2018

All submission deadlines are at 9:00pm HAST.

See copyright note on main CFP page